Comprehensive Agreement On The Bangsamoro

The agreement paves the way for the formation of the Bangsamoro government in 2016. At the signing ceremony, Philippine President Benigno Simeon Aquino III, Al-Hajj President Murad Ebrahim, Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak, participated in others involved in the peace process and foreign representatives. Japanese Ambassador to the Philippines Toshinao Urabe and President of the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), Akihiko Tanaka, were among those who experienced the historic event. – the declaration on the continuity of negotiations, signed in June 2010, taking up parts of the aborted Memorandum on the Ancestral Domain (MOA-AD). On 24 January 2014, Miriam Coronel Ferer, the Philippine government`s chief negotiator, and Mohagher Iqbal, the philippine`s chief negotiator, signed a peace agreement in Kuala Lumpur. The agreement would pave the way for the creation of the new Muslim autonomous entity called Bangsamoro, according to a law that must be approved by the Philippine Congress. Instead of bringing Muslim leaders together, the agreement fragmented the MNLF[13] because some groups within the group preferred independence to autonomy. Thus, a group of officers led by Hashim Salamat[14] disbanded and founded the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) to continue its armed struggle for an independent Bangsamoro (Moro Nation) nation in Mindanao. The current ARMM charter lists fourteen areas that are not within the purview of the regional legislature. In this comprehensive peace agreement, the parties list 81 powers reserved for the central government, exclusively for the Bangsamoro, and at the same time with both parties to the division of power. Of the 81 powers, 58 are allocated to Bangsamoro, nine are reserved for the central government and 14 are shared. [2] The framework agreement on the Bangsamoro annexes and four annexes, namely transitional provisions and modalities, yield production and stream distribution, power-sharing and standardization, and the Inland waters addendum of Bangsamoro, are included in the overall agreement.

[3] On 24 March, Philippine forces increased the alert status for red numbers in anticipation of the event. Philippine President Benigno Aquino III, President Hadji Mourad Ibrahim and Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak are among the most expected to sign the agreement. [4] JicA congratulates the Philippine government and MILF on this landmark agreement, which is a chance to move closer to lasting peace and prosperity.